Dancing My ABCs

Dancing through life as a principal…one alphabet letter at a time

Sick Days

March6

Sick days can be no joke. I feel like the older I get the harder they become too. My mother would so lovingly tell me that well, Stefanie, as we get older… At any rate, it is hard. As an educator, it is often times easier to just muster through it especially if sub plans are involved. This week, I found myself super sick but with a ton on my plate at school. I had 2 model writing lessons each day this week, learning appointments throughout the district, 2 curriculum department meetings, and I never want my team to feel as if I’m letting them down. I had convinced myself that I would be fine. Why oh why are we programmed (or maybe it is just me) but why is the first response to sickness I’m just going to push through it. Thankfully, my family and coworkers stepped in reminding me how important it is to rest and take time to recover. I am so glad I listened because I didn’t leave my bed yesterday or today. I must have really needed that. It was yet another time when life has a way of reminding you that slowing down, taking time for you, and staying home when you are sick is so important. You can come back more focused and ready to rock it. Here’s to the weekend, where I hope to recover a bit more and then start fresh on Monday.

5 Things that Made Me Smile this Week
-supportive coworkers
-flexible classroom teachers
-YouTube –> saving sick days yet again
-new dress shoes
-fluffy pillows

4 Words to Describe My Week
hectic, sleepy, draining, painful

3 Things I Plan to Do This Weekend
-sleep
-eat solid foods
-drink more water

2 Things I Learned This Week
-I can do something that makes me nervous
-tomato soup is still my go to sick meal

1 Goal I Have For Next Week
-support teachers in the area of writing instruction

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Categories

Twitter Feed


Recent Comments

Stefanie’s Bookshelf

Stefanie's bookshelf: currently-reading

The Girl Who Drank the Moon
tagged:
currently-reading




goodreads.com

Visitors



Skip to toolbar