Dancing My ABCs

Dancing through life as a principal…one alphabet letter at a time

#IDEAcon Reflection

February28

This last week I had the pleasure of attending and presenting at the #IDEAcon conference (Illinois Digital Educators Alliance) up in Schaumburg, IL. My district took our curriculum department, three high school teachers, two middle school teachers, and 4 elementary teachers. It was a great week filled amazing opportunities, connections, and inspirations. As an instructional coach, I think it is extremely beneficial to be able to attend these conferences. Not only are we attending and fostering those relationships with teachers within our district but we are connecting and continuing to foster relationships with people outside of our district. I think it is important for us to have that lens. We can see all of these different ideas, see what other districts are doing, and making positive connections elsewhere so that we can come back and share the amazing things with teachers back home.

I also love that when I’m sitting at a keynote and/or a session with a teacher from our district, right afterwards there is a debriefing opportunity. Within that debriefing moment is where the magic happens. Something they say to us will light a spark and remind us that we will need to make sure to touch base with that teacher when we return. They might even say something they want to do but are a little apprehensive to try. Right there in the moment, an instructional coach can offer support, a different lens, reassurance, and set up times to help them upon returning when and if they are ready. Sometimes just knowing I was there and heard the same information they heard is enough to foster that environment of learning to continue once the conference is over. Not everyone likes that or is ready for that but some are. Being on the scene is a perfect way to build trust and respect.

I am also always on the lookout for particular ideas that a teacher back home will love. I make sure to send them an email right then and there to let them know I found a resource or an idea at this conference that made me think of them. I send the resources and offer support when I return. We also can stay up to date on best educational practices and what’s trending. This impacts the PD that we can then offer staff throughout the rest of the year.

#IDEAcon did not disappoint and I look forward to next year!

5 Things that Made Me Smile this Week
-presenting 4 different sessions on topics I’m passionate about
-connecting with fellow colleagues about how their new ideas could become a reality back home
-conversations by the fireplace with teachers outside my district
-powerful keynotes that made me think, smile, laugh, and want to be better
-meeting a soon to be instructional technology coach and sharing resources together

4 Words to Describe My Week
action-packed, fun, thought-provoking, wiped

3 Things I Plan to Do This Weekend
-spend time with my family
-catch up on sleep
-prep for 1st and 4th grade model writing lessons next week

2 Things I Learned This Week
-how to step outside my comfort zone
-the power of in the moment instructional coaching

1 Goal I Have For Next Week
-establish two new writing communities with first and fourth graders

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Categories

Twitter Feed


Recent Comments

Stefanie’s Bookshelf

Stefanie's bookshelf: currently-reading

The Girl Who Drank the Moon
tagged:
currently-reading




goodreads.com

Visitors



Skip to toolbar