Dancing My ABCs

Dancing through life as a principal…one alphabet letter at a time

It Starts with One Word!

January1

Last December, I had been pouring over every resource I could think of to kick off the first week after winter break with my students.  By a happy accident, I stumbled upon #oneword on Twitter and it was just the inspiration I needed! Our #OneWord2017 Project was such a powerful experience and soon became one of my favorite projects of the whole year. Please feel free to check it out here.

I didn’t know the impact it would have on my family though until just the other day. I continue to be amazed with the things a 5-year-old mind is capable of. Annnd when the 5-year-old just so happens to be my son, well I tend to be even more amazed. Naturally. 🙂

My husband Derek and I were putting away Christmas decorations when I causally asked my 5-year-old son, Jaxon, what he thought his one word for 2018 was going to be. Without skipping a beat, he said calm. When asked why he chose calm, he said because he needed to be calm when solving a problem. Oh be still my mommy heart! I was blown away that he knew what his goal should be and he was going for it.

Jaxon then proceeded to share that he had an idea for Derek’s word. He thought it should be patience. My husband, being the amazing dad he is didn’t skip a beat either. He said wow buddy that is a perfect word for me and that could really help our family.  Instead of being made to feel his opinion didn’t matter, Jaxon now felt empowered. He looked up at me and said what will your word be mommy? I shared that I was having trouble but I kind of liked the word release or let-go. His face squished up. My heart sank but I just thought well I need to explain myself because he didn’t understand. As I opened my mouth to do so he said, “Mommy I think your word should be happy. You’re not happy and you don’t speak happy.”

……………

To say that that comment hit like a ton of bricks would be an understatement. My first instinct was to be defensive. Inside my brain I was screaming, WAIT WHAT?! Happy?! I’m always happy. Every day. I love everything. All the time. Then I stopped. If that were true, why would my son think otherwise? And why would I be screaming inside my head? I feel happy and have so much to be happy about but I must not be showing that enough…or in the right way…or to the right people.

Wow. He was right.

My one word couldn’t be focused on letting go of all these negative things that I thought were the problem. The focus would still be on the negative and that happy feeling wouldn’t project outward. I needed to switch the focus. The focus needed to be on…happy! I instantly pulled him up into a hug and said I’m so happy you are my son! Family hugs ensued and wonderful conversations followed about what we were going to do to achieve our words.  We even made posters on Google Slides and introduced Jaxon to the wonderful world of Bitmojis! This one simple family project has already had an impact in our household and will be a memory I will cherish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

With one word, my son reminded me of what we as educators strive to teach our students, sometimes you have to look at a situation through a different lens or even flip it upside down. Sometimes you have to let others be brutally honest and allow them to feel safe and empowered enough to do so. Sometimes you have to swallow your pride and listen. Sometimes you have to realize that anyone can change the world…and it can start with one word!

What will your #OneWord for 2018 be?

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Categories

Twitter Feed


Recent Comments

Stefanie’s Bookshelf

Stefanie's bookshelf: currently-reading

The Girl Who Drank the Moon
tagged:
currently-reading




goodreads.com

Visitors



Skip to toolbar